Putting final design app icons on to an iPhone

The tutor showed us where to get this download. Someone has created all the parts of the iPhone in vector form which is really useful for me. This download tells me that the typeface I need to use is Helvetica Neue Bold. The only part I need from the download is the body of the phone.

http://www.teehanlax.com/blog/iphone-gui-psd-v4/

Here is the screen I am using which was donated by a friend who owns an iPhone.

Here I am using guides to try to fit the icons on to the iPhone.

Here is how my first try at fitting them on the iPhone turned out. The bright colours contrast well against the dark background. The icons can be seen clearly.

Here I am adding the names of the apps using Helvetica Neue Bold.

I needed to put quite a lot of guides on the screen because it was difficult to get the icons and type to line up straight.

Here is the final design which will be printed. I’m really happy with it and I have had positive feedback from fellow students. I have had a lot of feedback from tutors and fellow students over the course of the project and I have remembered their reactions and made changes based of what people have suggested. I like to get feedback because it is really helpful. I wanted to bring some fun to measuring apps, give them a modern make over and liven then up a bit.

Leave a Reply

