Evaluation and Reflection

1) Visual Communication:

In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece meet the needs of the brief?

We made an infographic that explains semiotics. We used pictures of icons, symbols and indexes. We used type to explain the different parts of semiotics.

What are the strengths of the visual communication? Why?

I think the typeface we used was clear and easy to read. The layout isn’t over-whelming. We used connecting lines and brackets to guide the eye.

What are the weaknesses of the visual communication? Why?

Semiotics can be a difficult subject to understand. Some people may have appreciated more type, giving more explanations and more images might have helped.

In what ways could the piece be mis-read or mis-understood by the audience? Be specific about who the audience is.

The audience is anyone who reads The Independent newspaper. If the infographic was uploaded on to the internet it could be looked at by anyone who wants to learn about semiotics/infographics. I think that people may struggle to understand fully the concept of semiotics from this infographic. I think that it is a good introduction to semiotics. I think to fully understand semiotics it is best to talk about it as well as looking at an infographic.

In what practical ways could the piece be developed or improved?

I think more information and images could be added to help further explain the different parts of semiotics. The colour scheme could be changed. The background colour could be changed.

2) Reflection of own working practices:

Be very honest with yourself in this section. Please feel free to approach a member of staff for help finding ways to develop skills.

How was my time keeping?

My time keeping was quite good for this project. I’m really glad my group turned up to lessons so we could start designing the poster early on so we had time to get feedback from the tutor after every stage. I did all my research within good time

How was my analysis of the brief?

I think my analysis of the brief was correct and it was helpful to analyse it. It was useful to use the brief to split the research into tasks that we then took on between us.

How was my research?

As explained in a previous post, we arranged as a group that I would research infographics in general. I tried really hard to look at a lot of infographics, make notes and write conclusions. I had all my research done in good time.

How did I draw conclusions from my research?

I wrote conclusions at the bottom of my research which forced me to think about what I’d learned which was quite helpful. I looked to see what different infographics had in common, what worked well and what felt counter-intuitive.

How did I use research to generate and develop ideas?

Mainly by looking at what the infographics had in common. I saw that it was common for them to be on a coloured background and for any text to be in a box with a coloured background. Looking at the layout helped me such as the way boxes are linked by lines that guide the eye. My research showed me that it was best not to cram a lot of information in to the space, to make sure the information is in the correct order and ensure that eyes should be guided along the page.

How did I use evaluations to help with my ideas generation and development?

We asked the tutor for feedback after every stage. We came up with some ideas which we later decided not to use after some thought. An example of this would be the beard and mustache idea. In the end we decided it didn’t fit very well in the space.

What parts of the project did I enjoy most? Why was this the case?

I really enjoyed working with other people. It was less stressful to have others there to help and encourage me. It was great to have others there to help solve problems.

What parts of the project did I enjoy least? Why was this the case?

I think writing this evaluation is probably the least enjoyable part. I did a lot of research which in the end became quite onerous and tiring.

What areas inspired me? Why was this the case? How could I follow these up?

I really like the infographics that could be understood instantly. Some infographics ‘feel right’ and some are counter-intuitive. In the future I would like my work to be understood instantly.

What areas were challenging or difficult?  Why was this the case?

We struggled to get our design to work but we got there in the end. At the end we changed the design to landscape, moved things around, added elements and that seemed to solve the problems.

Do I need to develop certain skills? Do I need these now? Or later?

I would like to improve my thinking skills so I can design graphics that can be understood very quickly. I think this type of ability will grow while I’m doing this course.

Group Evaluation

I think my group worked really well together. It definitely helped me to be in a group with others as we helped each other to solve problems. We gave out the tasks democratically at the beginning which was a good way to start. Everyone completed the task they were given and we swapped all our research. We didn’t have one single argument or problem that I can recall. This was probably because we had a lot of communication between each other so we must have solved any problems before they got out of hand. It was also probably because everyone in our group happened to have the right type of personality to be a good team player.

Leave a Reply

