Vector designs for the Pedometer and connotations

I found this picture on the site below. I really like the way the foot looks round and well proportioned.

http://familycrafts.about.com/library/graphics/colorfootpr.gif

This shape isn’t as aesthetically pleasing because the feet look really wide and out of proportion.

http://cesa.webtemplate.com.au/sites/2568/files/5395-208×208.jpg

I decided to use the first picture for inspiration as it had exactly the right shape I wanted. Here is a screen shot of me using the pen tool to make the right shapes.

This screen shot shows me putting a drop shadow and an inner shadow on to the vector. This vector needed more shadow than the others because it was really hard to see the foot against such a light yellow background.

Connotations

Is your design clear and easy to understand?

I think most people will realise this image shows a foot print. The white against the yellow has proved to be a bit of a problem because the white shape gets lost.

How might others view it? How could it be mis-read?

I suppose people may think of hopping when they see it. They may think of walking on the beach.

Does it look appropriate or does it refer to other meanings?

I think it is appropriate and hopefully people would realise the foot represents walking.

Leave a Reply

