Vector design for the Barometer and connotations

I wanted to have a sun and a cloud with rain to represent the barometer. I looked at pictures on the internet such as this sun and the cloud below it.

http://cdn.graphicsfactory.com/clip-art/image_files/image/1/1350471-2737-Smiling-Sun-Cartoon-Character.jpg

http://www.how-to-draw-cartoons-online.com/image-files/cartoon_clouds.gif

I used the tool pen to make my own sun and cloud. I used the rotate tool to make the details around the sun.

Connotations

Is your design clear and easy to understand?

I think it is easy to see a sun and a cloud in the design. I didn’t try to design something to represent air pressure as I think the sun and cloud are easier and quicker to understand.

How might others view it? How could it be mis-read?

They may view it as a weather forecast which technically it isn’t.

Does it look appropriate or does it refer to other meanings?

I think it is appropriate because ultimately a barometer measures air pressure which indicates what the weather will be.

Leave a Reply

