Conclusions from research

  • No more than 60 characters per line is recommended.
  • A grid can guide layout decisions.
  • There are different types of grids such as column-based grid and module-based grid.
  • Juxtaposition is the deliberate placement of contrasting images side by side.
  • Using a gutter in-between the text and images allows the text and images to breath.
  • Remember to use white space.
  • Remember not to take all photos too close up because it can make it difficult to use them when it is time to fit them into a space in the document.

RESEARCH CONCLUSIONS

Computer Applications 1B Learning Outcome:(1)

Further explored the role of research to inform design solutions in relation to a brief (by means of producing research journals that contain both visual and verbal material that evaluates and analyses the candidates’ creative and software processes and usage)

From examining the research that you have conducted so far draw a set of overt conclusions that explain the following points:

1. What do you feel the role or purposes of research are within a graphic design project?

  • The point of doing research is to learn about the subject of the project so that I know what I can include and what would be incorrect. For example if I was doing a magazine spread about a specific football team which had to include images of the team I would need to research into the team. It would most likely be inappropriate to use a picture of just any football team. I have to be sure that any images I’m using are correct and relate to the subject.
  •  The purpose is also to see what others have done before me, to see what is expected of me and to see what is appropriate. It is to make sure I use correct and appropriate imagery, layouts and typefaces.

2. What parts of research have been inspirational or useful to you and why? How have you demonstrated this in your sketchbook or blog?

  • I found looking at the spreads in different magazines really useful. I have made notes about the spreads and said things like ‘This layout is really clever and eye-catching’. I have said in my notes if I found something particularly inspiring. An example of this would be one of the spreads in Vogue where I made notes saying ‘The whole spread is quite striking’ because ‘…of how low down the title, the sell and the body text is’. I always make a note if something stands out.

3. If you have not done so already, take one or more aspects of your research and show clearly how this informed your design solution.

  • I have been influenced by the research I did into the spreads in Communication Arts. I have used the way white space is used and the way they arrange their margins. I was also influenced by Selvedge because in one of their spreads they have organised the images with a white margin in-between them in a similar way to Communication Arts. As I thought this way of organising a layout looked very clear and minimalistic I used it in my final spreads.

4. What are the strengths and weakness of your own methods of research?

  • Strengths – I have looked at several spreads in different magazines. I learnt a lot about what is appropriate and what others have done before me. I found it very useful and inspirational. I also read about layouts in a book called ‘Basics Design O2 Layout’ which was really helpful.
  • Weaknesses – I don’t think my research methods have any major flaws. The main objective was to research in to inspirational magazine spreads and I have done that. I suppose I could have looked at more spreads from other magazines. Having said that I think its important not to get lost in research and remember to make ideas too.
Leave a Reply

