Looking at spreads inside Communication Arts

I thought this magazine would be appropriate to use for research as it shows a lot of images. I have noticed that stills from films are put into consecutive spaces so the audience can see what is happening. Nearly all the margins between the images are the same width apart from one of the right page.

The margins in-between the images here are even wider than the first example’s. They are all equal unlike the first example. I notice use of white space at the top of the right hand page. The pictures are stacked as opposed to being spread out on the right hand page.

The pictures on this spread look very comfortable like the page grew around them.

This layout appeals to me and I think I could use something like this for my images. You can see the obvious use of a grid. The first half on the left page has been used for type.

Its interesting that on the right hand page there is white space at the top. The photos are stacked as opposed to spread out on the right hand page. I’m not quite sure how the use of the same grid has been used on both pages. I would probably need to get a ruler out and measure the layout to work it out.

All of the above are from:

Leave a Reply

