New Magazine Design – Looking at layouts

This double page spread is really effective. The pictures go along the centre of the page and have been put together like a collage. The body text runs at an angle. The over all effect is appealing. I don’t see anything I think is bad here.

The pictures go along the bottom of the page and have been put together like a collage. It is very interesting how the column of the body text run at an angle. The text appears to follow the shape of the buildings somehow. This design is well-balanced.

This time the images run along the top of the page and the text runs along the bottom. The sell is in the centre of the page. The body text appears ro be imitating the shape of the buildings. What a clever idea. The images seem a bit squashed together but this isn’t necessarily a problem.

Issue 4 – The title has an interesting effect. It looks like some of it has been erased. This picture is quite small so I can’t see the detail properly to be able to comment on it.

Issue 5 – The title has a different design to issue 4. This cover is striking and the type used is of different sizes. Faces have been used to make a letter. There is quite a lot going on here but I think all the different elements work well together.

Issue 9 – The title is different again. The type runs down the left hand side and I notice that it overlaps. I think this effect works well even though the type isn’t particularly clear.

Issue 10 – The title is different again. I think this design is eye-catching. The image in the centre has a bright border and there are arrows pointing to it. The black bold type really stands out.

These four covers of Ray Gun are quite ‘messy’ but the designer has made all the elements work together to make an interesting piece. I have never tried to make a piece of grungy design like this but I would like to learn.

Top – This is really eye-catching. The images and the type remind me of a cartoon. The sell is under the title and the body text is directly to the right of the sell. The images overlap the title. I think the audience of this magazine would find this design appealing. I don’t see anything I think is bad.

Bottom – What I like about this spread is the use of two subtle curved borders. One runs under the sell and the other runs under the main title. I think that’s really clever. I think I would like to use this idea in a design if there is a oppotunity.

This design looks really different to the two above. The top third of the page has been left almost blank. It’s interesting that the body text runs all along the page on the left as opposed to being put into columns. I like the way the title on the right has spaces in the words. It is very interesting how the pull quote runs vertically. I think this design works well and it isn’t overwhelming.

All of the above are from this book:

Leave a Reply

