Learning how to start

Starting a project is the hardest part. I don’t know how to use a sketch book and I’ve never made a blog before. I’ve only ever uploaded single pictures on to anonymous video and image hosting sites. So to say this is a steep learning curve for me may be an understatement. But that’s no reason to give up, right? So. I figure the best way to teach myself about how to use a sketch book and how to make a blog is to blog about my researching how to use a sketch book. Get it? Works for me. I’m going to make a list of websites I’m reading, incase I need to go back and look at them in the future. I am going to use Google search to find some relevent sites. In no particular order here is what I found.

Site One

Great site with amazing pictures and videos of sketch book pages but I feel it’s too advanced for me to use at this point.

Site Two

The pictures on this page, done by students, are familiar to me as I used to spend a lot of time drawing abstract shapes. Again, I don’t find this particularly helpful for my project. This part is reassuring: “We share the philosophy that “Art Can Be Taught,”…Beginning art students are commonly fearful of blank pages, and students with little experience in visual concepts often have difficulty thinking of a way to start a picture. We also know that a student who is not doing, is probably also not learning.”

Site Three

This site is very helpful for me. It explains the reasons why people use sketch books. It appears to be a time-saving device. I am not particularly familiar with sketch books and currently have little ability or confidence to use one. This site says: ‘In fact, many new great ideas whether design or not are structured by brainstorming on paper first with their group before going forth and bringing some sort of prototype to life.’ I am familiar with brainstorming so I will start this project with a brain storm. I’m really glad I found this website as I don’t think I would have ever thought of putting a brainstorm inside a sketch book.

Site Four

http://www.dailywritingtips.com/in-search-of-a-4-dot-ellipsis/

Getting side tracked teaching myself how to write this blog with correct punctuation. This web page is useful to me.

Site Five

http://www.englishdiscourse.org/block.quotes.htm

This web page has just taught me to use block quotes correctly which is great.

Conclusions

I have learnt quite a lot from making this blog today. I am undecided as to whether I should use a sketch book or try to do everything here in my blog. The idea of using both doesn’t seem very convenient. I can see now that a sketchbook can be used in a number of different ways, depending on your goal. You can use it to keep a journal of your life and places you’ve been. If you try to create your idea in, say Illustrator, without sketching first, you lose the opportunity to try ideas without being constrained.

It was disheartening to find out that it took more time to sort out the bibliography than I took actually learning and enjoying the websites. I could have looked at a lot more websites in the same amount of time if I hadn’t of written a bibliography.

Bibliography

Site One

Stankewitz, Martin . “The sketchbook – a creative diary.” Squidoo. November 2009: Scrapbooking. Web. 30 Sep. 2011. <http://www.squidoo.com/sketch-book>.

Site Two

For the web page containing the pictures I was looking at:

Smith, Donna Odle and Waterman, Gail . “Art Teachers’ Resource Student Examples Index.” Archive.edu: An Archive of Sharable Education Resources on the Web. December 1998: Art Teachers’ Resource Sketchbook Assignments. Web. 30 Sep. 2011. <http://atlantis.coe.uh.edu/archive/electives/elective_lessons/electiveles8/page1/s-index.htm>.

For the quote:

Unknown, . “Art Teachers’ Resource Sketchbook Assignments.” Archive.edu: An Archive of Sharable Education Resources on the Web. December 1998: Elective Lessons. Web. 30 Sep. 2011. <http://atlantis.coe.uh.edu/archive/electives/elective_lessons/electiveles.html>.

Site Three

Author name unknown. (Author’s Twitter http://twitter.com/#!/grindsmart) “Why Sketching And Wireframing Ideas Strengthens Designs.” SpyreStudios. September 2010: The Archives. Web. 30 Sep. 2011. <http://spyrestudios.com/why-sketching-and-wireframing-ideas-strengthens-designs/>.

Leave a Reply

